ORDER CALLING DIRECTOR ELECTION

§

§

§

THE STATE OF TEXAS

COUNTY OF HAYS

HAYS COUNTY WATER CONTROL AND IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 2

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Hays County Water Control and Improvement District No. 2 (sometimes referred to herein as the "District") met in regular session, open to the public, at the Belterra Recreation Center, 801 Belterra Drive, Austin, Texas 78737, the District's office outside the District, on December 21, 2023 and the roll was called of the members of the Board of Directors to-wit:

Samantha E. Bethke	President
Lynn J. Lee	Vice President
Sean McGillicuddy	Secretary
William Carroll Kelly IV	Treasurer/Asst. Secretary
Chris Kopperud	Assistant Secretary

All members of the Board were present except Director McGillicuddy.

WHEREUPON, among other business conducted by the Board, Director Bethke introduced the Order set out below and moved its adoption, which motion was seconded by Director Kopperud and, after full discussion and the question being put to the Board of Directors, said motion was carried by the following vote:

"Aye" <u>4</u>. "No" <u>0</u>.

The Order thus adopted is as follows:

WHEREAS, pursuant to Texas Water Code §49.103, it is necessary that an election be held for HAYS COUNTY WATER CONTROL AND IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 2 for the election of three (3) Directors, each of whom shall serve a four (4) year term; and

WHEREAS, this Board of Directors wishes to proceed with the ordering of said election.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF HAYS COUNTY WATER CONTROL AND IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 2 THAT:

<u>Section 1:</u> The matters and facts set out in the preamble of this Order are hereby found and declared to be true and complete.

Section 2: An election shall be held on May 4, 2024, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. at all regular election day polling locations within Hays County, Texas designated by the Elections Administrator of Hays County ("Elections Officer") and approved by the Hays County Commissioners Court for use in the May 4, 2024 District elections, such detailed listing being set out in the attached Exhibit "A", at which time the election of three (3) directors, each of who shall serve a four (4) year term, shall be submitted to the duly qualified voters of the District.

The election will be conducted pursuant to the terms and conditions of that certain Joint Election Agreement between Hays County and the Local Political Subdivisions participating in the May 4, 2024 elections and also in accordance with the separate Contract for Election Services between the District and the Hays County Election Administrator (referred to collectively as the "Election Agreements") and any amendments thereto.

<u>Section 3</u>: Voting in said election shall be by the use of the Verity Duo Hybrid Voting System components from Hart Intercivic, Inc. which conform to the requirements of the Texas Election Code or, in the event of equipment failure, by separate paper ballots. The ballots used in the election shall have printed thereon the names of all candidates for the office of director who filed applications with the District to have their names appear on the ballot by 5:00 p.m. on February 16, 2024 and the names of any write-in candidates who file a declaration of write-in candidacy by 5:00 p.m. on February 20, 2024.

<u>Section 4:</u> Early voting by personal appearance shall be conducted at the Main Early Voting Location, Hays County Government Center - Conference Rooms 1 and 2, 712 S. Stagecoach Trail, San Marcos, Texas 78666 and the additional early voting locations on the dates and times designated by Election Officer and approved by the Hays County Commissioners Court and attached hereto as <u>Exhibit "A"</u>, all of which locations are designated as public places within Hays County, Texas. The early voting clerk's mailing address to which ballot applications and ballots to be voted by mail may be sent is 712 S. Stagecoach Trail, Suite 1045, San Marcos, Texas 78666 – Attention: Early Voting Clerk.

Section 5: The Elections Officer shall be responsible for the appointment of qualified judges, clerks and other election personnel to assist in the conduct of the election as provided in the Election Agreements. The election shall be held and conducted and returns made to this Board of Directors in accordance with the Election Agreements and in accordance with the Texas Election Code as modified by Chapter 49, Texas Water Code.

Section 6: All qualified resident electors of the District shall be entitled to vote in the election.

Section 7: The Secretary of the Board is hereby directed to cause notice of this election to be posted within the District.

Section 8: Nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit the Board of Directors from canceling the election called hereunder if and as allowed in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 2, Subchapter C, Texas Election Code, as amended.

[REMAINDER OF THE PAGE LEFT BLANK INTENTONALLY]

PASSED and APPROVED this 21st day of December 2023.

Santt EBell

Samantha Bethke, Vice-President HAYS COUNTY WATER CONTROL AND IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 2

Attest:

Sean McGillieuddy, Secretary Chris Kopperud, Asst. Secretary HAYS COUNTY WATER CONTROL AND IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 2

(DISTRICT SEAL)



Exhibit "A"

Final Regular Election Day Vote Center Locations, Dates and Hours for the May 4, 2024 Elections

&

Main Early Voting Location Dates and Hours for the May 4, 2024 Elections

(Locations are subject to change and voting hours will be announced when Hays County Elections Administrator releases for the May 4, 2024 Elections)